And Then She Learned To Wait Patiently

tumblr_lr8neikPuo1qbkkwqo1_250

I hate waiting. Hate it with a passion. I want things, people, projects  to move at my pace or else:

” I am over this, I quit!”

“Just give it to me, I’ll do it myself!”

“Seriously?!!”

People say if you ask God for patience, He’ll place you in situations where you have to learn patience. I don’t think this is true. I have been constantly been placed in situations that should have taught me patience–teaching my younger sister to drive, waiting in line behind a sweet 80 year old woman at Target as she counts out pennies, getting lost on my way to an important meeting. Yet, I am the least patient person I know.

Recently, God has been stirring some new hopes and dreams. But He hasn’t provided clarity, because maybe I am not ready for it yet or maybe it isn’t quit ready for me. Whatever His reasons, the vision isn’t quit clear and I am in a holding pattern.  Which any frequent flyer can tell you is the worst, so close to your destination you can see it, but not able to touch it! It’s uncomfortable, the waiting place.

But, God can use any place for His glory. He gave the Israelites bread from heaven, He gave Joseph a vision that would save Israel, and He gave Paul letters to His church.

So I will  wait.

The old me would have just landed the plane, even without a clear runway or an open gate. But this time will be different, because I will sit and wait on the Lord. Even if it seems like he is moving at glacial pace. Even if I am less than thrilled. Even if it feels like a special kind of torture. Because He is not finished yet.

I will wait. PATIENTLY.

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him. Psalms 37:7

But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently. Romans 8:25

And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised. Hebrews 6:15

I will learn to sing in my “Egypt,” I will dance in my “desert,” and be productive in my “cell.”

Because I can’t bootstrap my way to the “land of milk and honey,” and He who promised is faithful.

Leave a Reply

