And then She Stopped Being Perfect and Started Being Willing

Why does it matter so much what others think? Second-guessing every sentence, every decision, every outfit because I am so worried that people won’t think I am smart or nice or well-dressed. And then it comes…what I really want is for people to think I am perfect.

Perfect? No one is perfect but we can come pretty close right? I think to my great discomfort the answer is no. I can’t on balance say I am anywhere near perfect,  if I had to mark every careless word, every bad outfit, every wrong sentence, every eye roll, I probably get it wrong more than I get it right.  And yet, in the Lord’s infinite grace and mercy, He’s there every time I get it wrong, to wipe my tears and bandage my wounds. In fact, the Bible says “The Lord longs to be gracious to you, and therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you.” (Isaiah 30:18)  God isn’t offering annoyed forgiveness for our imperfections, He’s offering boundless grace.

He is not only anxious to pardon my imperfections, He wants to use them. God uses imperfect and broken people to carry out His divine plan for this world.  He actually uses the weak and imperfect things of this world to shame the strong.  (1 Corinthians 1:28)  He’s not asking for perfection, He doesn’t need it. But, He does need people who recognize their utter dependence on Him; those are the people He can use. He can use those people because they will do whatever He asks, because they are grateful  just to be included in His divine plan to know that their incompetence doesn’t disqualify them.

“…Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I will delight t in weaknesses…for when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9b-10

It is sort of crazy that His only requirement is a willing heart, most managers require some demonstrated level of competence before they hire you to be a part of their team. God doesn’t ask for any demonstrated competence, His only qualification is whether or not you want the job. He doesn’t need our competence, He’s competent and our competency is from Him. 2 Corinthians 3:5

So I will stop worrying about whether I am doing it perfectly and instead focus on doing it willingly. I will choose His sufficiency instead of my own. I will let His power be made perfect in me. I will watch Him do miraculous works through me just because I said yes.

Grace is Amazing

Leave a Reply

